My Story

Posted on March 29, 2011

7


When my older brother left to serve a two year mission in Mozambique, I became more interested in the issues that third world countries face, more specifically relating to children and health. Quickly this passion grew and I wanted to travel, learn, and understand more so that one day I could effectively make a difference. Last summer unexpected changes in my life finally motivated me to do what I had always hoped to. I ended up working with the Orphanage Support Services Organization (OSSO) in Cuenca, Ecuador spending the majority of my two months there in a handicapped orphanage. On the days I wasn’t with the handicapped children, I was at one of the other 4 orphanages or a daycare. This is where I really grew to understand that the more we are blessed with, the greater responsibility we have to improve the lives of those around us. I saw children’s faces light up like it was Christmas morning when we would arrive with a few pieces of fruit for them, and other children who were sickly, dirty, and zombi-like, unable to interact with those around them because one incredible lady was unable to effectively take care of and give attention to over 20 children. I saw tears stream down the faces of new mothers when they received a blanket or bottle for their new baby. I saw the difference that a smile, hug, or a new pair of shoes made (which giving up a night out for dinner could pay for). I saw the sweetest girl who was unable to walk, get out of her wheelchair on her own and walk with therapy bars that had been donated. I saw miracles everyday because of the charity of individuals from around the world who would either donate what they could, send supplies, or adopt a child giving them the greatest gift…a family. I could go on and on about the lessons I learned while in Cuenca and about stories of the angels I was surrounded by, but just because those kids have become the driving force behind my passions doesn’t mean they will become yours.

In this blog I will highlight other organizations and major international health challenges that are being battled. Help is needed everywhere whether in our own backyards or halfway around the world. I hope that each of us can find our passions and use that to make life easier and better for others.

